Loud Noise and Pictures

Music and Photo Blog. It’s a new concept, so bear with it…

New Music 170608

leave a comment »

It’s like Christmas! All this plus Moo Cards in the mail, and hopefully a PRE CD later this week…

Ladytron – Velocifero

Black Cat is probably the coolest opener I’ve heard this week, if not longer. The whole album is full of banging beats, dirty synths, geek chic and geek chicks. Predict The Day is a million different types of awesome too. Sounds a lot like Nine Inch Nails. That’s a good thing, by the way.

I was told to expect Eurovision when I got this. Maybe. I can see the comparisons, but no. This is better than transvestites and Romanians.

Also, good cover art. Not bad for a freebie. If anyone reads this, send more! I just bought a car so I can’t afford to buy $62 000 worth of CD’s each week.

77/100

A Place To Bury Strangers – Fix The Gash In Your Head

From the fucking awesome eponymous album from last year comes the single for what I thought was the best track on it: The noisy-as-fuck-electro-smash Fix The Gash In your Head.

I don’t normally buy singles unless there’s something special about it. I read on Pitchfork (fucking shoot me if you have to) that APTBS had destroyed the living crap out of the record plant and had the single reprinted as a limited edition 12” in superfly yellow vinyl (remixes only) and a CD with the original 10″ on it (FTGIYH, Ocean, and remixes of both), and it was all limited 100 copies.

Well, as soon as I saw that, I hit up Rough Trade and manged to snag #63/100. Happy days!

The remixes? The Lillica Libertine remix of Gash is pretty different to the album, which is good, but then again, I would have liked to have heard something that mangled the main beat, because that was way beyond rad to begin with. Nevertheless, it sounds pretty awesome. $10 from the UK? Buy the 10″ if you can, or the ltd ed if you can

89/100 purely on collectability.

If there’s any grammatical errors above, you’ll live. I’m too busy eating/watching Big Cat Diary and thinking “I want one of these…”

Written by saimagery

June 17, 2008 at 10:27 am

Leave a Reply

