Loud Noise and Pictures

Music and Photo Blog. It’s a new concept, so bear with it…

Something-Whatever-Core

with 4 comments

For the last few days I’ve been talking with some guys about starting a band making some experiemental dance/noise gaze something-whatever-core music. One of the guys threw Atlas by Battles my way and I haven’t stopped listening to it. I dismissed Battles about 6 months ago at the Big Day Out because I wanted to see Tucker (who was amazing, both times I saw him) and almost went to the Battles sideshow just to see Tucker, but it was on the same night as The Police. Sting won.

Anyway, that was a stupid decison in hindsight because now I’m having kittens over Battles, not to mention I had to sit through a very awkward hour watching Fergie mangle everyone’s faces off in the booking mismatch of 2008. Where am I going with this? Towards Pivot, who have a new album out called O Soundtrack My Heart on August 18th on Warp. Didn’t I Furious keeps getting stuck in my head, and you can download that on their website anytime you like. They also made Band of the Day! Woo hoo!

When I was down in Melbourne I bought a shitload of vinyl, one of which being Cryptograms/Fluorescent Grey LP/EP by Deerhunter. These guys also have a new album called Microcastles coming out soon, which isn’t bad because they were apparently breaking up or something as of late last year. Hit up their blog for many mixtapes as well as this link showing you the sonic assault of My Bloody Valentine (“will he EVER shutup about them?” “No Honey, he won’t.”) which begs the question: Do the people hold their hands over their ears because it’s expected of them, or because it’s really THAT loud? I’m not questioning the fact that MBV is louder than Bryn Terfel with his nuts in a vice, but it almost seems like a courtesy to show the band “Hey! I can’t fucking hear!”.

Despite all that, I really admire the guy still bopping his head along to the noise. Dude, wicked.

Another (apparently – I can only tell from photos) amazing live show is by Saul Williams. His latest one produced/co-written/released/flogged to death by Trent Reznor is about to get a physical release hopefully in July. On the album is five extra tracks, one of which being a reworking of another song off the album, one being a re-release from his first album due to the song being in a Nike commercial, and another being from the NIN remix album for Year Zero (I ain’t gonna be the one to retype that l33t speak shit here).

Pitchfork put up one of the new songs World on Wheels, and it’s a catchy little ditty. Also some tour dates, but none for Australia.

Anyway, back to work.

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. dude the police over battles! u have got to kidding me, thats a gimme!

    biatch!

    July 2, 2008 at 6:03 am

  2. I’ll say the same about Battles too. I had heard Atlas earlier and saw Battles at the Perth BDO while taking photos for FasterLouder but it wasn’t until recently when my friends and I gathered around and put on the Mirrored album in its entirety. That absolutely blew me away with the intricacies of the varying instrumentation.

    It had only been Battles’ first time in Perth thanks to the BDO, but I’m not sure when they’ll be back next. I’d heard over east that they’ve performed at least three times over there now? 😦

    Anthony

    July 2, 2008 at 6:20 am

  3. Biatch – Come on man! Sting! The dude is in Lock Stock, a bit of respect. If I look like him when I’m 95, I’ll be happy.

    Anthony – Glad to see I’m not the only one haha. Cheers!

    saimagery

    July 2, 2008 at 8:16 am

  4. Fergie is my favorite singer


Leave a Reply

